Maria A Gomez


Department of Chemistry

Mount Holyoke College


Maria A. Gomez studies proton conduction in a variety of fuel cell materials and teaches physical chemistry and materials science courses in the Department of Chemistry at Mount Holyoke College.


2014–Present: Mount Holyoke College, MA

Professor of Chemistry

2007–2014: Mount Holyoke College, MA

Associate Professor of Chemistry

2003–2007:     Mount Holyoke College, MA

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

1999–2003:    Vassar College, NY

Assistant Professor of Chemistry

1997–1999:    Los Alamos National Laboratories, NM

Postdoctoral research with Lawrence R. Pratt in the Theoretical Chemistry and Molecular Physics Group

1992–1997:    Brown University

Doctor of Philosophy, Theoretical Chemical Physics (Advisor: Jimmie D. Doll).

Structure and Dynamics of Adsorbates on Metal Surface Systems.”

Honors and Awards: AT&T Bell Laboratories CRFP Fellow (1992-7); NSF Fellow (1992-4); Gordon Research Conference on "Dynamics at Surfaces" Scholarship (1995); NSF Travel Award to Enrico Fermi School of Physics Course 79 (1994); NATO ASI Scholarship to Enrico Fermi School of Physics Course 79 (1994); Accounts of Chemical Research Departmental Graduate Prize (1993)

1988–1992:    Rhode Island College

Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Chemistry, Physics, and Applied Mathematics.

Summa Cum Laude

Chemistry Honors Thesis: Excited-State Acid-Base Properties of Trisbipyrazine Ruthenium (II). 

Mathematics Honors: Advanced work in real analysis and ordinary differential equations.

Honors and Awards: Eleanor M. McMahon Award (Honors program Award) (1992); Christopher R. Mitchell Award (Departmental Mathematics Award) (1992); Departmental Physics Award (1992); Ronald J. Boruch Award (Physical Sciences Award) (1992); Eastern Colleges Science Conference – Outstanding Chemistry paper (1991); American Chemical Society Undergraduate Departmental Award (1991); National Hispanic Scholarship Foundation Scholar (1990); Kraft General Foods Scholar (1989); CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Award (1989)

Academic Details