Award Opportunities in Art History

The art and art history department offers the following awards for both undergraduate and graduate students, in addition to the awards, scholarships and grants offered by the College.

For Graduate Study

The Louise Fitz-Randolph Fellowship

In memory of Louise Fitz-Randolph, Mount Holyoke class of 1872 and a distinguished professor of art history at the turn of the 20th century. Awards are made to graduates of Mount Holyoke who are studying art history, archaeology or history of architecture at the graduate level. Fitz-Randolph application.

The Louise Fitz-Randolph Fellowship in Art is awarded to a graduate of Mount Holyoke College who is pursuing graduate study in the History of Art or Archaeology or History of Architecture on a full time basis in a program that leads to the MA or Ph.D. degree, in the United States or abroad.

The Deadline for the application and supporting materials is March 31 for grants in the following academic year. Send applications and all supporting materials to: Fitz-Randolph Fellowship Committee, Department of Art History and Architectural Studies, Mount Holyoke College, 50 College Street, 201 Art Building, South Hadley, MA 01075.

For Undergraduates in Art History

Study Awards

The Department of Art and Art History provides competitive awards for qualifying majors who wish to undertake study projects that take them off-campus. Typically, that might be an art history or architectural study project, an archaeological project, research for a senior thesis, or a second internship (in the year after receiving Lynk UAF funding for an internship). It ought to be something beyond the standard art history curriculum. Projects must contribute to a student’s academic major in a substantive way. A minimum grade point average of 3.0 is required. Awards normally range between $500 and $1,000. All junior and senior projects must be completed by May of the student’s senior year.

The Richard Hsiao Asian Art Award

Awarded in memory of Richard Hsiao, lecturer in Asian art at Mount Holyoke from 1971 to 1977, this provides a qualifying student with $2,000 to study any aspect of Asian art or architecture. The award is available to qualifying majors. A minimum grade point average of 3.0 is required. Projects must be conducted in Asia. In some cases, knowledge of local language may be required. Students must indicate how their study in Asia will contribute to their academic program at Mount Holyoke. International students returning to their home region for study may not be funded. Study Award Application.

The Helen Vannett Award 

Awarded in memory of Helen Vannett, a member of the Department’s staff, the Vannett Award helps defray expenses for art studio or art history majors who are undertaking special projects related to courses. No application required.

The Linda Kelso Wright Award

In memory of Linda Kelso Wright, Mount Holyoke class of 1960, the Linda Kelso award is available to qualifying junior and senior art history majors who wish to undertake art history study projects that take them off-campus. The award may be used for an art history program, internship, archaeological project, senior thesis, or research project coordinated with faculty. Projects must contribute to a student’s academic program at Mount Holyoke. Students must have taken appropriate courses in art history to qualify for an award. International students returning to their home country may not qualify. Awards will range between $500 and $1,000. No application required.

National Fellowships

Additional information about these fellowships can be found in the College's fellowships office.

The Gates Cambridge Scholarship

The Gates Cambridge Scholarship program provides highly competitive, full-cost scholarships to applicants from countries outside the U.K. to pursue a full-time post-graduate degree on any subject available at the University of Cambridge. The program aims to build a global network of future leaders committed to improving the lives of others. Start the process by attending an information session the spring before the year you plan to apply. 

The George J. Mitchell Scholarship

Up to 12 Mitchell Scholars between the ages of 18 and 30 are chosen annually for one year of postgraduate study in any discipline offered by institutions of higher learning in Ireland. The Mitchell Scholars Program provides tuition, accommodations, a living expenses stipend, and an international travel stipend.

DAAD Study Scholarships

The DAAD Study Scholarships are available to highly qualified graduating seniors and recent graduates from all disciplines (except medicine) to do independent research or to complete a full master’s degree at a German university in Germany. The scholarship is for 10 months and must take place during the German academic year (October 1 – July 31) immediately following graduation (for candidates applying as college seniors).

Marshall Scholarships

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for one or two one-year degrees or a single two-year degree in the U.K. Up to 40 Marshall Scholars are selected each year.

Fulbright Grants

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program offers funded opportunities for students and young professionals to undertake international graduate study, advanced research, university teaching, and primary and secondary school teaching worldwide.

Rhodes Scholarships

The U.S. Rhodes Scholarship fully funds (fees, stipend and travel) two to three years of graduate study in any field at the University of Oxford in the U.K. Students may pursue a master’s degree, a doctorate, a second B.A., or a combination of degrees, e.g., two one-year master’s. Applicants are strongly encouraged to plan for at least two years of study.