Students in Computer Science

New England Undergraduate Computing Symposium

(2011)Mount Holyoke Computer Science students continued to do excellent poster and oral presentations at the third annual New England Undergraduate Computing Symposium at Tufts University.

Surabhi Gupta won for best individual research project, Allison DeJordy and Melissa Frechette won best group project for a class, and Gabby Snyder, Hannah Deutsch and Asantewaa Apiah Korang won for project most likely to have a positive impact on society.

Gabby, Hannah and Asantewaa also did one of the limited number of invited speaker presentations.

(2010)Mount Holyoke Computer Science students participated in the second annual New England Undergraduate Computing Symposium held this year at Boston University on April 18th.  And, for the second year in a row, our students brought back honors for having some of the best presentations.

Profs. Barbara Lerner and Audrey St. John went with five students to NEUCS with 4 posters.  Altogether,  students from around New England presented 46 posters at the symposium with four picked to be awarded prizes.  Two of these went to Mount Holyoke projects!

Most creative project from an upper level course was awarded to the Virtual Piano,  Michelle DeVeaux (and Cleo Schneider) with the project most likely to make a positive impact on society went to the Autonomous Wheelchair, Abigail Drury with Rittika Shamsuddin (and Melissa Frechette)

In addition, Abigail Drury was selected to do one of the 10-minute oral presentations in the closing session of the day.

At the 2009 Symposium. Surabhi Gupta and Rebecca Groveman also returned with awards and Rebecca Groveman was selected to do one of the final presentations.  So, the department is establishing a track record and a reputation at NEUCS and the pressure is on!