Submission Prizes

Entry Rules

  1. limit of 2 entries per prize per student
  2. limit of 2 contests for each entry
  3. include your name and the name of the prize on each entry or group of poems


FAQ for Spring 2021

Virginia Lee Barnes Prize: For the best critical essay by a senior in English, American Studies, Medieval Studies, or Women's Studies

Barbara Benson Memorial Fund: For distinction in prose writing. Open to juniors & seniors for prose or other pieces in fiction, essay or any prose form (available alternate years only; offered in 2021)

Gertrude Claytor Award of The Academy of American Poets: For the best poem or group of poems, open to all undergraduates

Minnie Ryan Dwight Prize: For excellence in journalistic writing, open to all undergraduates

Kathryn McFarland Prize: For any form of creative writing, open to all students

Sydney Robertson McLean Short Story Prize: Open to all undergraduates

Anne Singer '69 Memorial Prize: To a student who shows both the promise of a gift for writing and a dedication to craftsmanship, preference to first years, sophomores, and juniors

Ada L. F. Snell Poetry Prize: For the best poem or group of poems, the whole not to exceed fifty lines, open to all undergraduates

Fellowship and Research Funds

Naomi Kitay '33 Fellowship: Awarded on basis of merit, as an aid toward a career in creative prose writing.

Jean Sudrann '39 Research Fund: To support student research in the Department of English, travel grants for research or special projects. Open to all students; not limited to English majors. Applications should consist of only two items -- 1, one page (single spaced) research plan that describes your project, travel plans, etc. and 2, a simple budget that outlines how the funds will be used. (Note: any travel proposed for summer 2021 must be within the applicant's home country and/or the country they lived for the spring 2021 semester.)

  • Deadline: please submit the application by Friday, May 7, 2021 at midnight.     

Graduate Fellowship in English & Joseph McGrath Bottkol Fellowship Fund: For the pursuit of Graduate Study in English (available alternate years only; offered in 2021)

Other Awards open to English majors

The Clio Melpomene Prize will be awarded to assist aspiring poets and/or historians after graduation. Applicants must be students of Mount Holyoke College slated to graduate as members of the Class of 2021.

The Richard A. Johnson Prize is awarded to a student with a strong academic record, in any major, who plans to teach at the secondary level, in any subject.  The prize may be used to support the expenses of graduate study toward a career in secondary teaching, for support during a practicum semester, or for a project, research, or experience that will enhance the student's teaching capabilities.