News and Events

Mount Holyoke Events | MHC Campus Map | Five College Events

Spring 2014

Third Annual Student Showcase, Tuesday, February 11, 7:00 pm in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall
invitation flyer

Lunchtime Thinkers, Nigel Alderman on Fredric Jameson, Tuesday, February 18 from 12:30-1:00 in the Cassani Room

Reading, Jacqueline Abelson '16 reads from her first novel, Hear, an Odyssey Bookshop event, Thursday, February 20 at 7:00 pm, Odyssey Bookshop
flyer

Faculty Reading, Valerie Martin reads from The Ghost of the Mary Celeste, an Odyssey Bookshop event, Tuesday, February 25 at 7:00, Odyssey Bookshop

Considering a career in Journalism? The Department of English invites you to join James Asher, the Washington Bureau Chief of the McClatchy Newspapers, for an informal chat about first steps and real-world challenges. Asher is a seasoned investigative journalist who leads a staff of 40 reporters as they deliver news from the nation's capital and around the world.  Monday, March 3 at 4:30 pm in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall,  Light refreshments will be served.

James Asher Journalism Talk, Tuesday, March 4 at 7:00 pm in Gamble Auditorium, Art Building
poster

Odyssey Author Reading, Helen Oyeyemi reads from Boy, Snow, Bird an Odyssey Bookshop event, Wednesday, March 5 at 7:30 pm in Hooker Auditorium, MHC

APA Symposium, The State of Asian, Pacific, and American Studies in the Five Colleges, 9:00 am to 6:00 pm on Saturday, March 8 in Gamble Auditorium, Art Building, MHC  symposium flyer

APA Keynote Lecture, "Why Asian American Studies Matters Now" by George Lipsitz at 4:30 pm on Saturday, March 8 in Gamble Auditorium keynote poster

Lunchtime Thinkers, Kate Singer on Marjorie Levinson, Monday, March 10 from 12:30-1:00 in the Cassani Room

Book Reading, Gayle Pemberton will read from her work, Tuesday, March 11 at 4:15 in 217 Shattuck Hall flyer

Five College PoetryFest, Carrie Carter '16 & Erika Onusseit '14 will represent MHC at the Twelfth-Annual Five College Student Poetry Fest on Wednesday, March 12 at 7:30 in Pruyne Lecture Hall, Fayerweather Hall, Amherst College poster

Gathering for Majors & Prospectives, an opportunity for students to spend time with department faculty & discuss courses and all aspects of the major, Tuesday, March 25 at 4:15 pm in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall

Faculty Reading, Catherine Manegold and Karen Osborn read from their work, Monday, March 24 at 4:30 in the Stimson Room, Williston Library

Book Party, join us to celebrate the release of Corinne Demas' latest book, Returning to Shore, Tuesday, April 1 at 4:15 in the Stimson Room, Willitson Library

Lunchtime Thinkers, Elizabeth Young on Laura Mulvey, Wednesday, April 9 from 12:30 to 1:00 in the Cassani Room

Glascock Poetry Contest, The 91st Annual Kathryn Irene Glascock '22 Intercollegiate Poetry Competition, April 11 & 12 poster

Panel of Young Adult Authors with Corinne Demas, Saturday, April 12 at 4:00 pm at the Odyssey Bookshop

Lunchtime Thinkers, Donald Weber on Sacvan Bercovitch, Wednesday, April 16 from 12:30 to 1:00 in the Cassani Room

The Five College Faculty Seminar on Global Cultures of the Long 19th Century presents “The Uneven Atlantic: Literary Mapping, GIS, and the Slave Narrative” by Elizabeth Maddock Dillon, Friday, April 18, 1:00 to 3:00 pm at Hampshire College, Franklin Patterson Hall, Faculty Lounge (2nd floor) poster

Fall 2013

Sara London & Dean Albarelli Read from their Work, Tuesday, Oct. 1 at 4:30 in the Stimson Room, Williston Library
flyer
** rescheduled for Tuesday, October 8 at 4:30 in the Stimson Room **

David McCann Poetry Reading, Tuesday, Oct. 29 at 4:15 in the Stimson Room, Williston Library
flyer

Lunch for Majors & Prospective Majors, Wednesday, Oct. 30 at 12:15 in the Cassani Room, Shattuck Hall
flyer

English Department Winter Social, Tuesday, Dec. 10 in the Cassani Room, Shattuck Hall
flyer