News and Events

Mount Holyoke Events | MHC Campus Map | Five College Events

Fall 2015


Valerie Traub Reniassance Lecture, Anatomy, Cartography, and the Prehistory of Normality, Thursday, September 17 at 4:30 in 101 Dwight Hall poster

Brandy Liên Worrall, Tuesday, October 6, at 4:30 p.m. at the Yuri Kochiyama Cultural Center (YKCC) at UMass 

Katherine O'Callaghan, "Silence and Loss in Finnegans Wake" on October 6 at 4:00 pm in 316 Bartlett Hall, UMass 

Mecca Jamilah Sullivan, OUTreach reading, Q+A & Reception, October 15 at 3:00 pm in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall

Independent Study Info Session, Wednesday, October 21 at 4:30 in the Cassani Room, 102 Shatuck Hall  poster

 Are you interested in doing an independent study?
   How do you find an advisor to work with? 
   Have you wondered about the thesis process? 
   What is the difference between a 295 and a 395 independent study?

Margaret Atwood Reading, Thursday, October 22 at 7:00 pm in Gamble Auditorium
Sponsored by the Odyssey Bookshop and English at MHC  poster

Amy Glynn '92, reading from her poetry collection A Modern Herbalon Tuesday, October 27 at 7:00 pm in 107 Shattuck Hall

Amy Glynn is a poet and essayist whose work appears widely in journals and anthologies including The Best American Poetry. Her collection A Modern Herbal was published by Measure Press in 2013. She has been a James Merrill house fellow, was the inaugural recipient of Poetry Northwest's Carolyn Kaiser award, and won the 2015 essay award from Literal Latte.  cover

POSTPONED rescheduled date t.b.a: Eileen Myles, OUTreach reading, Q+A & Reception, originally planned for October 27 at 3:00 pm Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall

Gathering for Majors & Prospectives, Wednesday, October 28 at 4:15 in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall  poster

Kiese Laymon lecture, Thursday, October 29 at 4:30 in Gamble Auditorium  poster

Sonia Nieto reading & discussion, Brooklyn Dreams: My Life in Public Education on Tuesday, November 5 at 7:00 pm, Odyssey Bookshop

Oliver Wang reading from Legions of Boom: Filipino American Mobile DJ Crews in the San Francisco Bay Area, Tuesday, November 10 at 4:30 in the New York Room

Samuel Ace poetry reading & discussion, Thursday, November 12 at 7:30 pm in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall flyer

Claudia Rankine "The Creative Imagination & Race," Tuesday, November 17 at 5:30 pm in Franklin Patterson Hall, Hampshire College flyer

Sara Jaffe, Reading, Q+A & Reception, Tuesday, November 24 at 3:00 pm in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall flyer

Ruth Ozeki in Conversation, Thursday, December 10 at 7:00 pm in the New York Room, Mary E. Woolley Hall flyer

English Department Winter Social, Monday, December 14 at 4:30 in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall

Join us for refreshments at 4:30 and faculty readings at 5:15!


Spring 2016 

Fifth Annual Student Showcase, Tuesday, February 16, 6:30-8:30 pm in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall

Elizabeth Fay Talk on Transatlantic Studies and Publishing, Friday, February 26 from 1:00–3:00 pm in the Cassani Room, 102 Shattuck Hall

Five College PoetryFest!, Thursday, March 24 at Hampshire College

Glascock Intercollegiate Poetry Contest, Friday & Saturday, April 1 & 2