Film studies at Mount Holyoke introduce students to the academic study of film from a variety of critical and disciplinary perspectives. Courses combine cultural, historical, formal, and theoretical analyses of films from a range of world cinematic traditions. Film Studies is also a member of the Five College Film Studies Department and additional possibilities for the study of film/video production are also available to students at MHC and the other Five College institutions. Please see the Film Studies section of the course catalog for a more detailed list of the major and minor requirements. We also provide guidance for students selecting specific courses and all the courses are designed to contribute in various ways to the College’s learning goals, and the Film Department Learning Goals.

Courses and Requirements 

See the Film Studies chapter of the course catalog >