The Geology department at Mount Holyoke participates in the Five College Geology Program to offer symposiums, field trips, and courses. 

The geology major provides students with an understanding of Earth processes, properties, and history, to the evolution of life, and to the interactions between human beings and various environments. In illuminating the dynamic processes that shape our planet, geology includes the study of a wide range of areas, including energy and climate change; water availability and population growth; waste treatment and disposal; sustainable land use; and the interaction of the ocean and the atmosphere. For detailed information on requirements for the major and minor, see the Geology chapter of the course catalog.

The environmental studies department also offers geoscience concentration within the environmental studies major.

Geology Major

The geology major provides students with an understanding of earth processes, properties, and history, as well as the evolution of life and the interactions between human and Earth’s environments.

The major requires a minimum of 36 credits. Students begin with one of the department’s 100-level survey courses and continue with additional courses at the 200 and 300 levels. We strongly recommend a summer field course as well as courses in biology, chemistry, physics, and calculus and/or statistics.

Geology Minor

The minor requires a minimum of 20 credits, including any 100-level introductory survey course and additional courses at the 200 and 300 levels.

Five College Coastal and Marine Science

Faculty from both natural and social sciences teach courses in the The Five College Coastal and Marine Sciences Program. The disciplines represented include biology, botany, chemistry, ecology, engineering, wildlife management, geography, geology, physics and zoology in the natural sciences, and government, public policy and economics in the social sciences.