Cyrus Vance Visiting Professor

The Cyrus Vance Visiting Professorship in International Relations was established in 1987 to honor Cyrus R. Vance, the fifty-seventh U.S. Secretary of State and recipient of an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Mount Holyoke in 1982. The professorship brings to Mount Holyoke for one semester or a full academic year a prominent practitioner in international relations, someone whose teaching and lectures add a practical dimension to the curriculum. The visiting professor teaches a seminar each semester and delivers a public address.

The following is a list of Cyrus Vance Visiting Professors.

Harry G. Barnes, Jr., U.S. Ambassador to Chile (Spring 1990)

Francis M. Deng, Sudanese Minister of State for Foreign Affairs (1990-91) 

Alfred Leroy Atherton, Jr., U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for the Near East and South Asia (Fall 1991)

Rev. J. Bryan Hehir, Counselor for Social Policy at the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops and President, Catholic Charities USA (Spring 1992)

Richard J. Bloomfield, U.S. Ambassador to Portugal and Ecuador (Fall 1996)

Phyllis Oakley, U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for Population, Refugees, and Migration (Spring 2000)

Denis Benn, Director, UN Secretariat for International Strategy and Representative of UNDP/UN in Jamaica (Fall 2005)

Jack F. Matlock, Jr., U.S. Ambassador to the Soviet Union and Czechoslovakia (Fall 2007)

Anthony Lake, U.S. National Security Advisor and Executive Director of UNICEF (Spring 2008)

June Carter Perry, U.S. Ambassador to Sierra Leone and Lesotho (Fall 2011-Fall 2012)

Pete Muller, photographer (Spring 2017)