Treaty Between Tibet and Mongolia, January, 1913, Signed at Urga

Whereas Mongolia and Tibet, having freed themselves from the Manchu dynasty and separated themselves from China, have become independent States, and whereas the two States have always professed one and the same religion, and to the end that their ancient mutual friendships may be strengthened: on the part of the Government of the Sovereign of the Mongolian people- Nikta Biliktu Da Lama Rabdan, acting Minister of Foreign Affairs and Assistant Minister-General and Manlai Caatyr Bei Tzu Damdinsurun; on the part of the Dalai Lama, Ruler of Tibet- Gujir Tsanshib Kanchen Lubsan-Agwan, Denir Agwan ChoinzinTschichamtso, manager of the bank, and Gendun-Galsan, secretary, have agreed on the following:--


The Dalai Lama, Sovereign of Tibet, approves of and acknowledges the formation of an independent Mongolian State, and the proclamation on the 9th day of the 11th month of the year of the Pig, of the master of the Yellow Faith Je-tsun Dampa Lama as the Sovereign of the land.


The Sovereign of the Mongolian people Je-tsun Dampa Lama approves and acknowledges the formation of an independent State and theproclamation of the Dalai Lama as the Sovereign of Tibet.


Both States shall take measures, after mutual consideration, for the prosperity of the Buddhist faith.


Both States, the Mongolian and the Tibetan, shall henceforth, for all time, afford each other aid against dangers from without and from within.


Both States, each on its own territory, shall afford mutual aid to their subjects, travelling officially and privately on religious or on State business.


Both States, the Mongolian and the Tibetan, shall, as formerly, carry on mutual trade in the produce of their lands- in goods, cattle, &c., amd likewise open industrial institutions.


Henceforth transactions on credit shall be allowed only with the knowledge and permission of official institutions, without such permission no claims shall be examined by Government Institutions.

Should such agreements have been entered into before the conclusion of the present treaty, and shoudl the parties thereto be unable to settle matters amicably, while the loss suffered is great, the payment of such debts may be enforced by the said institutions, but in no case shall the debts concern the Shabinars and Hoshuns.


Should it be necessary to supplement the articles of this treaty, the Mongolian and Tibetan Governments shall appoint special Plenipotentiaries, who shall come to an Agreement according to the circumstances then existing.


The present treaty shall come into force on the date of the signature thereof.

Plenipotentiaries of the Mongolian Government: Acting Ministers of Foreign Affairs Biliktu Da Lama Rabdan and Assistant Minister-General and Manlai Caatyr Bei Tzu Damdinsurun.

Plenipotentiaries of the Dalai Lama, Sovereign of Tibet: Gujir Tsanshib Kanchen Lubsan Agwan, Donir Agwan Choinzin Tschichamtso, manager of the Bank of Tibet, and Gendun-Galsan, secretary.

According to the Mongolian chronology, on the 4th day of the 12th month of the second year of "Him who is exalted by all."

According to the chronology of Tibet, in the year of the Water-Mouse, on the same month and day.

Source: Pradyumna P. Karan, The Changing Face of Tibet (Kentucky, The University Press of Kentucky, 1976), 87-88.

Return to Vinnie's Home Page

Return to Tibet Page