The Religion Major and Minor

The Religion Major

Students who major in religion complete a minimum of 32 credits and take courses in at least three different religious traditions—for example, Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, or Judaism. They must also select courses from each of the following three groups: sacred texts and interpretive traditions; religious thought; history and society.

Independent work is encouraged. For more information, see the Religion chapter of the course catalogue.

The Religion Minor

The minor in religion consists of a minimum of 20 credits (five courses). At least one must be at the 300 level and at least three should be taken in the Mount Holyoke Department of Religion.