The Department of Spanish, Latina/o and Latin American studies offers the following awards specific to our majors and minors as well as annual awards offered by MHC detailed below.

Spanish: The Jessie Babcock '03 Award

In order to be considered for this award, students must be nominated by a professor, another student or themselves. They have to submit a research project in Spanish by April 15th of their senior year and fulfill the following conditions: 

  • senior 
  • major in Spanish, Latin American Studies, or Romance Languages and Cultures (with Spanish as the primary language)
  • strong and visible passion for Spanish language and culture
  • GPA 3.00
  • active participation in the department's activities (tutoring, Spanish tables, searches, etc)

History of the Award

"In 2003, during the week before Commencement, I was already considering how I might leave a legacy to Mount Holyoke. After four years of living, studying, and learning from fellow students and faculty, I wanted to give back in some tangible way.

But what could a philanthropist-minded young woman on a student's budget do? The answer presented itself as a $250 graduation gift from my family, which I used to establish the Jessie E. Babcock Prize in Spanish. The donation was timely: up to that point, the Spanish department had no academic prizes, as most other departments did. My intention in creating the prize was to honor future students' hard work and dedication to the department, as well as recognize their contributions to the study of cultures and literatures from Spanish-speaking countries."

Read about Jessie's Babcock's career journey across oceans and into the Pentagon and see previous year's winners.

Latina/o Studies: The Mariposa Prize 2021-2022


The Mariposa Prize is a $250 award for Latina/o/x graduating seniors in 2021 and 2022. The award was generously funded by artist Hector Dionicio Mendoza as part of his practice of public reciprocity and as a way to recognize the achievements of Latina/o/x students at Mount Holyoke College. The relationship between Mendoza and the College community is a result of the Mount Holyoke College Art Museum’s (MHCAM) acquisition of two of Mendoza’s works---“Mariposa/Butterfly” and “Immigrant Shoes,” on display at MHCAM.


Latina/o/x Students who are graduating in spring 2021 and spring 2022 are encouraged to apply by the deadline. Applicants should engage with one or both of Mendoza’s works and provide a single page reaction (one-side only) to the art. (Links to images of the artwork: Mariposa/Butterfly and Immigrant Shoes). Your reaction, for example, may relate to your education and/or personal experience at the College or your thoughts about the future. Applicants may use a format of their choosing such as a narrative analysis, poem, photograph, or art as their submission. Submissions should be sent to Associate Professor David Hernández as an attachment by April 29, 2022 at 5 pm.


The award and prize will be announced alongside past award recipients and delivered at the department “At Home” for Spanish, Latina/o and Latin American Studies on May 21, 2022. 

The Latin American Studies Award

The Latin American Studies Program at Mount Holyoke College each year awards its Latin American Studies Prize to the graduating senior whose unusually distinguished record of student work and involvement in the major, general academic excellence and overall achievement, and community engagement while at the College is especially deserving of our acknowledgement and public recognition.

Seniors whose work focused on Latin America, the Caribbean, or U.S. Latino/a issues have received this Prize since 1995. In addition to a Certificate of Recognition, publication of the winner’s name in the Commencement Program and on our Latin American Studies website alongside the names of all previous recipients, the Prize also comes with a modest cash award.

The Global Competence Award

Deadline: Seniors need to apply by March 1.

IF you complete the following, you may qualify for Mount Holyoke's Global Competence Award

  • at least three courses in the same language beyond the language requirement
  • At least one of the following: an internationally-focused internship,  an internationally-focused community-based learning project, or Study Abroad
  • at least two courses that explore a global issue from different perspectives
  • participate in at least one of the following: live on a language floor, participate in the Global Partners' Program, be active in a student organization with an international focus.
  • Write a reflective essay (in 500 words or less).

Annual Mount Holyoke College Awards

The college grants awards by class year, location, field, and defined population. You may also find a number of scholarships, fellowships, internships and essay competitions on the Fellowships at Mount Holyoke page.