Theatre Arts


The Department of Theatre Arts embraces its identity as an educational department and a producing organization within a world renowned liberal arts college for women of diverse backgrounds. We empower students by giving them the education and practical skills necessary to enter the professional theatre world. The diverse skill set students acquire in our department --creative thinking, collaboration, discipline and leadership-- are attributes that enhance any career choice.

Our faculty and staff are working professionals who model artistic rigor, the synthesis of theory and practice and collaboration. The department is open to all students – those that are interested in a broad study of theatre and performance as well as those that choose to focus on a specific area of study—acting and directing, design, history and theory or playwriting. Among our MHC alumnae are Pulitzer Prize winning playwrights Wendy Wasserstein and Suzan Lori-Parks.

Mount Holyoke College is a part of the Five College Consortium, which includes Amherst College, Smith College, Hampshire College and the University of Massachusetts. Five College students are encouraged to attend classes and auditions for productions at all member institutions.