Kathryn Irene Glascock Poetry Prize Contest Participants

Kathryn Irene Glascock, ca. 1922

Kathryn Irene Glascock, ca. 1922

The Kathryn Irene Glascock Poetry Contest honors a promising young poet who graduated from Mount Holyoke in 1922 and died of pneumonia in 1923. Established by her parents in that year, the contest became an intercollegiate event in 1924. Students are nominated by faculty members, and then judged by a panel of three distinguished poets. James Agee, Frederick Buechner, Kenneth Koch, William Manchester, James Merrill, Sylvia Plath, Katha Pollit, Muriel Rukeyser, and Gjertrud Schnackenberg are among the many writers who were Glascock contestants. Judges have included Robert Frost, Seamus Heaney, Audre Lorde, Robert Lowell, Howard Nemerov, Adrienne Rich, Richard Wilbur, and William Carlos Williams.

In 1976 and 1977, poet-judges were asked to hold informal conversations to preface the competition weekend. Since then, this introductory address has become tradition and is held on the first day of the competition, prior to student-poet readings later that evening. Judges also read their own poetry aloud in the form of the Judges' Poetry Reading, which takes place on Saturday morning of the competition weekend.

**Please note that the winner is denoted with bold type for each year, the honorable mention (when applicable) with italics.

Glascock Participants by Year:
This list is organized by year, and contains the names of each candidate, which school they attended, the judges names, and it denotes first place and honorable mention.

Glascock Participants by Contestants:
This list is organized by contestants' last names, and contains the names of each candidate, their school, and what year they participated in the contest.

Glascock Participants by Judges:
This list is organized by judges' last names, and also shows what year(s) they participated.

Alumnae Participants:
This list is organized by the last names of almnae participants, and also indicates the year of participation.