Extraterrestrial Mineralogy Web Site

(Will include Mössbauer, optical, and reflectance spectra, photos of terrestrial analogs, and general information about minerals on planetary surfaces once it is set up.)

Mössbauer Spectra
(Room temperature spectra of common and uncommon rock-forming minerals)

Darby's Courses:

AST 100/101, MHC Spring 2011

AST 106 Introduction to the Solar System, MHC Spring 2007

GEOL/AST 23/223 Planetary Science MHC Fall 2010

GEOL/AST 30/330 Mars Seminar Hampshire CollegeFall 2010

AST 30/330 Moon Seminar MHC Fall 2009

AST 105 Mars: Missions Fall 2010


Former and current Five College Astronomy Department faculty and students at the 47th Annual Lunar and Planetary Science Conference, March 2016 at The Woodlands, Texas. Rear (l-r) Caleb Fassett, CJ Carey (U Mass Ph.D. in progress), Jay Dickson (HC '02), Tommy Boucher (U Mass Ph.D. in progress), Dan Moriarity (U Mass '10). Front (l-r) Gensis Berlange (MHC '12), Kelsey Aureli Kielbasa (UMass '14), Erica Jawin (MHC '12), Maggie McDama (MHC '10), Sam Peel (MHC '12), Darby Dyar, Nina Lanza (SC '01), Alyssa Pascuzzo (SC '15), Natalie Glines (MHC '13). Also attending but not pictured: Eli Sklute (MHC '12), Catherine Walker (MHC '07), and Emily Lakdawalla (AC '99).

Five College Astronomy students and staff at the Lunar and Planetary Science Conference in Woodlands, Texas, in March of 2011. Shown cw from left: Darby Dyar, Elly Speicher, Erica Jawin (MHC '12), Liz Brown (MHC '11), Samantha Peel (MHC '12), Marco Carmosino (HC '11), and Maggie McAdam (MHC '10). Also attending but not pictured: Sara Cadieux (MHC '08), Jay Dickson (HC '02), Elizabeth Sklute (MHC '06), Selby Cull (HC '05), Dan Moriarity (UM '10), and Ben Lane (AC '11).


Five College Astronomy Department students at the 33rd annual Lunar and Planetary Science Conference, March 2002. Rear (l-r) Sara Stiltner (MHC '02), Darby Dyar, and Leah Makuch (U Mass '02). Seated: Katie Peek (MHC '2), Jes Therkelsen (AC '02), and Jay Dickson (HC '02).

Student Theses supervised by Darby:

Jay Dickson, Hampshire College, 2002
Katie Peek, Mount Holyoke College, 2002
Leah Makuch, University of Massachusetts, 2002
Jes Therkelsen, Amherst College, 2002
Maria Hunter, Mount Holyoke College, 2004
Abigail Daane, Mount Holyoke College, 2004
Vanessa O'Connor, Smith College, 2005
Erin Dopfel, Mount Holyoke College, 2006
Jared Howenstine, University of Massachusetts, 2006
Yarrow Rothstein, Mount Holyoke College, 2006
Elizabeth Sklute, Mount Holyoke College, 2006
Claire Bendersky, Mount Holyoke College, 2007
Catherine Walker, Mount Holyoke College, 2007
Madison Barkley, Mount Holyoke College, 2007
Shannon Graham, Mount Holyoke College, 2007
Sarah Beth Cadieux, Mount Holyoke College, 2008
Erica A. Emerson, Mount Holyoke College, 2008
Amy Langford, Mount Holyoke College, 2008
Jonathan Tucker, Amherst College, 2009
Jacqueline Knutson, Mount Holyoke College, 2010
Lindsay Barbieri, Hampshire College, 2010
Samuel Bell, Amherst College, 2011
Michelle DeVeaux, Mount Holyoke College, 2012
Marie Ozanne, Mount Holyoke College, 2012
Erica Jawin, Mount Holyoke College, 2012
Samantha Peel, Mount Holyoke College, 2012
Molly Williams, Mount Holyoke College, 2012
Srishti Kashyap, Mount Holyoke College, 2013
Jennifer Linn, University of Massachusetts, 2014