Physics 100 -- Syllabus

Return to Physics 100 homepage
Date Reading Topic Laboratory
Thursday, Sept. 4 Chapter 1 What is physics? (no lab)
Monday, Sept. 8 Chapter 2 Proportionality
Tuesday, Sept 9 Chapter 2 Scaling Laws Scaling in Bones
Thursday, Sept 11 Chapter 3 Geometry Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Sept 15 TBA Problems
Tuesday, Sept 16 4.1-4.9 How we see Triangulation
Thursday, Sept 18 4.10-4.13 Thin lenses Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Sept 22 4.14-4.18 Mirrors
Tuesday, Sept 23 5.1-5.7 Angular clocks Geometrical Optics
Thursday, Sept. 25 5.8-5.11 Oscillator clocks Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Sept. 29 5.12-5.13 Logarithmic clocks
Tuesday, Sept. 30 6.1-6.4 Mechanical Equilibrium Pendulums
Thursday, Oct 2 6.5-6.8 Newton's 3rd Law Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Oct 6 Review Suggested topics
Tuesday, Oct. 7 7.1-7.3 Potential Energy EXAM 1 this week
Thursday, Oct. 9 7.4-7.5 Kinetic Energy in W/Th lab period
Monday, Oct 13 FALL BREAK
Tuesday, Oct. 14 FALL BREAK Static Equilibrium
Thursday, Oct. 16 Chapter 7 Energy in Oscillators Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Oct. 20 Chapter 7 Energy Review
Tuesday, Oct 21 8.1-8.2 Projectile motion Oscillators
Thursday, Oct 23 8.5 Circular motion Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Oct. 27 8.4 Conservation of Momentum
Tuesday, Oct. 28 9.1-9.4 Archimedes' Principle Falling
Thursday, Oct. 30 9.5-9.8 Pressure Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Nov. 3 9.9-9.10 Bernoulli's Principle
Tuesday, Nov. 4 9.11-9.15 Pipe Flow EXAM 2 this week
Thursday, Nov 6 9.20 Diffusion in W/Th lab periods
Monday, Nov. 10 9.17-9.18 Human Circulatory System
Tuesday, Nov 11 10.1-10.4 Temperature, Gas Law Flowing Water
Thursday, Nov 13 10.5-10.9 Heat Capacity Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Nov. 17 Entropy
Tuesday, Nov 18 11.1-11.3 Work and heat
Thursday, Nov. 20 11.4 Heat engines Joule's Experiment
Monday, Nov. 24 Problems, processes Labs meet W/Th
Tuesday, Nov. 25 9.19 Scaling and Fractals in Nature
Monday, Dec. 1
Tuesday, Dec 2 11.5-11.6 Free Energy Brownian Motion
Thursday, Dec 4 Statistical Mechanics Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Dec. 8 Problems
Tuesday, Dec. 9 Presentations