Physics 100 -- Syllabus

Return to Physics 100 homepage
Date Reading Topic Laboratory
Thursday, Sept. 10 Chapter 1 What is physics? (no lab)
Monday, Sept. 14 Chapter 2 Proportionality, scaling
Tuesday, Sept 15 Chapter 3 How we see Scaling in Bones
Thursday, Sept 17 Chapter 3 Thin lenses Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Sept 21 Chapter 3 Thin lenses
Tuesday, Sept 22 Chapter 3 Mirrors Geometrical Optics
Thursday, Sept 24 Chapter 3 Optical Phenomena Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Sept 28 Chapter 4 Angular Clocks
Tuesday, Sept 29 Chapter 4 Oscillator clocks Pendulums
Thursday, Oct. 1 Chapter 4 Logarithmic clocks Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Oct. 5 Chapter 5 Law of the Lever
Tuesday, Oct. 6 Chapter 5 Mechanical Equilibrium Static Equilibrium
Thursday, Oct 8 Chapter 5 Newton's 3rd Law Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Oct 12 FALL BREAK
Tuesday, Oct. 13 FALL BREAK EXAM 1 this week
Thursday, Oct. 15 Chapter 6 Kinetic Energy in W/Th lab period
Monday, Oct 19 Chapter 6 Potential Energy
Tuesday, Oct. 20 Chapter 6 Energy in Oscillators Oscillators
Thursday, Oct. 22 Chapter 6 Energy and Equilibrium Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Oct. 26 Chapter 6 Projectile Motion
Tuesday, Oct 27 Chapter 7 Circular Motion Falling
Thursday, Oct 29 Chapter 8 Archimedes' Principle Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Nov. 2 Chapter 8 Pressure
Tuesday, Nov. 3 Chapter 8 Bernoulli's Principle Blood Flow
Thursday, Nov. 5 Chapter 8 Pipe Flow Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Nov. 9 Chapter 8 Capillarity
Tuesday, Nov. 10 Chapter 8 Shear Stress EXAM 2 this week
Thursday, Nov 12 Chapter 8 Fluid Phenomena in W/Th lab periods
Monday, Nov. 16 Chapter 9 Temperature, Gas Law
Tuesday, Nov 17 Chapter 9 Heat Capacity Flowing Water
Thursday, Nov 19 Chapter 9 Entropy Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Nov. 23 Chapter 9 Problems
Tuesday, Nov 24 Chapter 10 Work and heat
Thursday, Nov. 26 THANKSGIVING
Monday, Nov. 30 Chapter 10 Heat Engines Labs meet W/Th
Tuesday, Dec. 1 Chapter 10 Free energy Joule's Experiment
Thursday, Dec. 3 Chapter 11 Statistical Mechanics Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Dec. 7 Chapter 11 Diffusion
Tuesday, Dec 8 Chapter 11 Brownian Motion Brownian Motion
Thursday, Dec 10 Presentations Labs meet W/Th
Monday, Dec. 14 Problems
Tuesday, Dec. 15 Presentations