Physics 100 -- Syllabus

Return to Physics 100 homepage
Date Reading Topic Laboratory
Thursday, Sept. 5 (1.1-1.4) What is physics? (no lab)
Friday, Sept 6 2.1-2.9 Scaling and power laws
Tuesday, Sept 10 2.1-2.9 Proportionality Scaling in Bones
Thursday, Sept 12 2.10-2.14 Geometry Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Sept 13 TBA Problems
Tuesday, Sept 17 3.1-3.9 How we see Triangulation
Thursday, Sept 19 3.10-3.13 Thin lenses Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Sept 20 3.14-3.18 Mirrors
Tuesday, Sept 24 4.1-4.7 Angular clocks Geometrical Optics
Thursday, Sept. 26 4.8-4.11 Oscillator clocks Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Sept. 27 4.12-4.13 Logarithmic clocks
Tuesday, Oct 1 MOUNTAIN DAY Pendulums
Thursday, Oct 3 5.1-5.6 Mechanical Equilibrium Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Oct 4 Review Suggested topics
Tuesday, Oct. 8 5.1-5.6 Newton's 3rd Law EXAM 1 this week
Thursday, Oct 10 5.7-5.8 Elastic Moduli in W/Th lab period
Friday, Oct 11
Tuesday, Oct. 15 6.1-6.3 Potential Energy Static Equilibrium
Thursday, Oct. 17 6.4-6.5 Kinetic Energy Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Oct. 18 6.6 Universal gravitation
Tuesday, Oct 22 6.7-6.9 Oscillator energy Oscillators
Thursday, Oct 24 7.1-7.2 Projectile motion Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Oct. 25 7.3 Galilean Relativity
Tuesday, Oct. 29 7.4 Conservation of momentum Falling
Thursday, Oct. 31 7.5 Circular motion Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Nov 1 Review Suggested topics
Tuesday, Nov. 5 8.1-8.4 Archimedes' principle EXAM 2 this week
Thursday, Nov 7 8.5-8.8 Hydrostatic pressure in W/Th lab periods
Friday, Nov. 8 8.9-8.10 Bernoulli's principle
Tuesday, Nov 12 8.11-8.16 Flow in pipes Flowing Water
Thursday, Nov 14 8.17 The circulatory system Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Nov 15 9.1-9.4 Temperature, gas law
Tuesday, Nov 19 9.5-9.9 Heat capacity
Thursday, Nov. 21 10.1-10.3 Work and heat Joule's Experiment
Friday, Nov. 22 10.4 Heat engines Labs meet W/Th
Tuesday, Nov. 26 8.18 Scaling and Fractals in Nature
Tuesday, Dec 3 10.5-10.6 Free Energy Brownian Motion
Thursday, Dec 5 11.1-11.2 Statistical Mechanics Labs meet W/Th
Friday, Dec. 6 11.3-11.4 Randomness
Tuesday, Dec. 10 Review Suggested topics