Map of Macedonia Macedonia in Europe
National Bank's logo
  • Capital: Skopje
  • Area: 25,333 sq km
  • Population: 2,022,604 (July 1999 estimated)
  • Currency: Macedonian denar
  • Form of government: emerging democracy;   unicameral Assembly or Sobranje (120 seats - 85 members are elected by popular vote; 35 members come from lists of candidates submitted by parties based on the percentage that parties gain from the overall vote; all serve four-year terms);   president elected by popular vote for a five-year term
  • Languages: Macedonian (70%), Albanian (21%), Turkish (3%), Serbo-Croatian(3%), other(3%)
  • Religion: Eastern Orthodox (70%), Muslim (30%)
  • National holiday: 8 September


Pictures from Macedonia

Skopje Natural beauties Ohrid Bitola



Official Sites:

linia.gif (78 bytes)


linia.gif (78 bytes)