Letter to Alumnae

October 2012

Dear Alumnae:

A gift to Mount Holyoke College endowed a fund for teaching awards to the faculty. Two awards are made each year for unusually effective teaching.

The Awards Committee seeks your nominations of faculty to be honored in the future. We recognize that exceptional teaching takes many forms and occurs both inside and outside the classroom. The awards process provides an opportunity for a lively discussion of these multiple dimensions of fine teaching.

Please be as specific as possible about the nominee's teaching and what made it so effective. For your convenience, you may submit your teaching nomination form online.

Please submit all nominations by November 16, 2012.


Christopher Benfey
Interim Dean of Faculty

Awards Committee

  • Andy Lass
  • Margaret Robinson
  • Paul Staiti

Previous Recipients

  • Christopher Benfey, English
  • Bettina Bergmann, Art & Art History
  • Robin Blaetz, Film Studies
  • Lois Brown, English
  • Jill Bubier, Environmental Studies
  • Wei Chen, Chemistry
  • George Cobb, Mathematics
  • Joan Cocks, Politics
  • James Coleman, Dance
  • Carolyn Collette, English
  • Jane Crosthwaite, Religion
  • Daniel Czitrom, History
  • Darby Dyar, Astronomy
  • Joseph Ellis, History
  • Vincent Ferraro, Politics
  • Rachel Fink, Biological Sciences
  • Penny Gill, Politics
  • Gary Gillis, Biological Sciences
  • John Grayson, Religion
  • Gail Hornstein, Psychology and Education
  • Lilian Hsu, Biochemistry
  • Janice Hudgings, Physics
  • Stephen Jones, Russian & Eurasian Studies
  • Andy Lass, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Anthony Lee, Art & Art History
  • Jonathan Lipman, History
  • Frederick McGinness, History
  • Lynn Morgan, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Fred Moseley, Economics
  • Howard Nicholson, Physics
  • Megan Nunez, Chemistry
  • Indira Peterson, Asian Studies
  • Harriet Pollatsek, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Christopher Pyle, Politics
  • William Quillian, English
  • Stan Rachootin, Biological Sciences
  • Margaret Robinson, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Michael Robinson, Economics
  • Nieves Romero-Diaz, Spanish, Latina/o, and Latin American Studies
  • David Sanford, Music
  • Lauret Savoy, Earth and Environment
  • Robert Shilkret, Psychology & Education
  • Jessica Sidman, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Susan Smith, Biological Sciences
  • Paul Staiti, Art & Art History¬†
  • Eleanor Townsley, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Kenneth Tucker, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Ying Wang, Asian Studies
  • Donald Weber, English
  • Elizabeth Young, English