Leadership and Service

Each year, at a special student awards ceremony, the College recognizes those students whose qualities of leadership and service have enriched the life of the community.  Students, Faculty, and Staff are encouraged to nominate a student (or students) who deserve recognition for their outstanding contributions.  Use this opportunity to show someone that you appreciate their dedication and hard work.  Do not assume that someone else will submit a nomination. 

Complete the online form by noon on Monday, February 22, 2016.


Student Leadership and Service Awards

Honors students who have consistently given their time, energy, and talents to promote positive change and growth in the Mount Holyoke community, and in so doing has motivated others to do the same. These students will have demonstrated dedication and depth of experiences.

H. Elizabeth Braun Catalyst for Change Award

During her tenure as Dean of Students at Mount Holyoke College (2003-2010) Liz Braun committed abundant energies to challenging racism and oppression. She has inspired many to do the same. Her work reflects her deep commitment to nourishing a community of teaching and learning and her dedication to building a more just and equitable college and world.

Established in 2010 by the offices of Dean of Students, Residential Life and Student Programs, The Catalyst for Change Award recognizes a student each year who has done extraordinary work in the service of creating a diverse and inclusive community.

Maurice Rabbino Award

Established in 1978 by Irma L. Rabbino ’53 to honor her father; honors a student “who has made an especially significant contribution to the life of Mount Holyoke College.” This student may have been involved with the creation of something new that has benefited the campus community.

The Helen Warren Smith Award

Established in 1979 by Helen Warren Smith (1908 alum); honors a senior whose “interest, involvement, and service to the Mount Holyoke College community has been outstanding.” This student need not be a recognized leader of an organization, but rather has displayed an enduring commitment and is a frequent contributor to the life of the campus.

The Kelly Sottile Community Service Award

Established in 1985, by the College Bookstore; honors a student who has made “significant contributions to the community outside the gates of Mount Holyoke, by consistently demonstrating personal commitment and sensitivity to human needs.” This award was renamed in honor of Kelly Sottile '08 in December 2007.

The Frances Harriet Williams Award

Established in 1981 by the family of Frances Harriet Williams (1919 alum); this award is presented each year to a student exemplifies the ideals to which Ms. Williams’ life was dedicated: the capacity to create a dream; the passion to pursue it; and the ability to soar with one’s goal, whether it is academic excellence, social justice or service to others. Nominee must be a junior or senior, a domestic student, and of African American, Latina, or Native American descent.