Dickinson House was built in 1916 as a faculty dormitory called Faculty House. It was renamed in 1931 in honor of Emma E. Dickinson, class of 1867. Dickinson House has served many purposes over the years, with more recent incarnations as the home of the Women's Studies Program and the Five College Women's Studies Research Center, and as housing for Frances Perkins students. In the fall of 2001, Dickinson opened as housing for sophomores, juniors, and seniors. It houses 57 students in single, double, and triple rooms on three floors, making it the smallest residence hall on campus.
Dickinson is unique in several ways. It is the only residence hall exclusive to upper-class students. Dickinson is located across Route 116 on Faculty Lane, which makes it slightly further from center campus than other residence halls. It also features two full kitchens, but has no dining hall. Most students opt to eat across the street at Abbey, Buckland, and Rockefeller hall. Dickinson is located across Route 116 from Chapin Auditorium, where many campus events are held. It is also across the street from the Jeanette Marks house, the lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered cultural space on campus.