Ham Hall was named after Roswell Gray Ham, who succeeded Mary Woolley as President of the College, from 1937 to 1957. Ham was the first residence hall built along Upper Lake. Ham is unique in that it houses 5 foreign language fellows (Chinese, French, Spanish, Italian, and German) and hosts a number of foreign language tables. All rooms in Ham feature a view of Upper Lake. Ham is directly on the jogging path around upper lake. Ham Hall underwent renovations in the spring of 2007, updating the furniture, paint, and lighting in the common areas.
Ham Hall houses 155 students in single, double and quad rooms on six floors and a basement. Ham is located near Kendall Sports and Dance Complex and the Equestrian Center, as well as many of the academic buildings. Ham shares a kitchen with MacGregor Hall, but has a separate dining hall.