Faculty Awards 2020

Dean of Faculty Jon Western, far left, and President Sonya Stephens, far right, pose with the 2020 Faculty Award winners prior to the closing of campus. Starting second from left: KC Haydon, Suparna Roychoudhury, Sarah Adelman and James Harold.

By Sasha Nyary 

Mount Holyoke College recognized four professors in its 2020 Faculty Awards ceremony this spring. The awards recognize excellence in scholarship and teaching and were celebrated on March 5, prior to the closing of campus and the establishment of physical distancing. 

Four adults sit in a row inside

President Sonya Stephens presented the 2020 Meribeth E. Cameron Faculty Awards for Scholarship to Katherine C. (KC) Haydon ’00, associate professor of psychology and education, and Suparna Roychoudhury, associate professor of English. 

The Mount Holyoke College Faculty Awards for Teaching were presented by Jon Western, vice president for academic affairs and dean of faculty, to Sarah Adelman, associate professor of economics and chair of international relations, and James Harold, professor of philosophy and chair of the department. 

One person congratulating another

“The Faculty Awards ceremony is a wonderful opportunity for our community to celebrate our core teaching and scholarly mission,” said Western. “It’s an honor to recognize these four exceptional individuals among many. They represent the rigorous intellectual activity and transformative teaching that distinguishes a Mount Holyoke education, and I am proud to be their colleague.”

One woman congratulates the other on her award

Roychoudhury echoed that theme in her remarks, recognizing her “dynamic, giving and brilliant friends” in the English department and her colleagues across campus. “It’s always gratifying to be recognized in any way, of course, but the thoughts and esteem of my peers counts for a special kind of favor,” she said. 

Learning has to be involved in experience, she noted. “Scholarship has to be sociable, engage an audience, adapt to the moment.” 

two women hugging at an awards ceremony

Hearing that she had won the award for scholarship was a complete surprise, said Haydon, who is a graduate of Mount Holyoke and has spent most of her academic career here.

“I missed a call from the president,” she said. “So she texted me, ‘This is Sonya. I’m trying to reach you.’ I love to attend the ceremony and I go every year. I learn a lot about the other faculty members and their work. I was a little bewildered this year because I have so many colleagues I admire.”

Sarah Adelman and students at the ceremony

The scholarship awards were endowed by former trustee Janet Hickey Tague ’66 in honor of Meribeth E. Cameron, a professor of history who also held several administrative positions. The teaching awards were funded by an anonymous donor. 

Read the full citations.

Six adults casually chatting on a deck overlooking a stream.

Related News

Detail of “Onward Over Everything No Matter What II.” Screen printed artist's book, 2019.

Through a layered lens

Amanda Maciuba, Mount Holyoke assistant professor of art, uses the medium of printmaking to explore and express the layered complexity of the world.

Andrew G. Reiter, associate professor of politics and international relations, talks to NOVA.

The United States must help in Haiti

Mount Holyoke professor Andrew Reiter wrote in the Boston Globe on the moral — and political – imperative for US intervention in the Caribbean country.

Photo of Patricia Brennan

The evolutionary payout for prickly sex

Mount Holyoke expert Patricia Brennan explains that both males and females benefit from the thorny genital arms race in seed beetles.

Paul Staiti

Trump takes spot in National Portrait Gallery

The placement of Donald Trump’s presidential image invites “heated conversation,” says Mount Holyoke art professor Paul Staiti.

Photo of Patricia Brennan

Separating the baby from the backwater

Anuses segregate babies from back ends, says Patricia Brennan, Mount Holyoke College assistant professor of biology.

Find more stories >