90th Glascock Poetry Competition Set for April 19 and 20

Senior Lauren Abbate ’13 will represent Mount Holyoke at the 90th annual Kathryn Irene Glascock ’22 Intercollegiate Poetry Competition on Friday, April 19, and Saturday, April 20.

The Glascock is the oldest and most prestigious intercollegiate undergraduate poetry competition in the United States. First held in 1923 as a memorial to Kathryn Irene Glascock ’22, a promising young poet who died shortly after her graduation, the competition connects talented student poets with distinguished professional poets. Past judges have included Robert Frost, Marianne Moore, Adrienne Rich, W. H. Auden, Derek Walcott, and Seamus Heaney; Sylvia Plath and James Merrill are among the past winners.

This year’s Glascock judges are Cleopatra Mathis, Mary Jo Salter, and John Yau. The three will participate in a conversation at 3 pm on Friday, April 19, in the Stimson Room of the Williston Library. The student competition will begin at 8 pm on April 19 in Gamble Auditorium.

At 10:30 am on Saturday, April 20, the judges will read from their own work and announce the winner in the Stimson Room.

In addition to Abbate, this year’s contestants are: Salma Elmehdawi ’13, Fordham University; Warner James Wood ’14, Harvard University; Laura Naparstek ’13, Skidmore College; Jamie Samdahl ’15, Smith College; and Paige Melin’13, SUNY-Buffalo.

All events are free and open to the public.