Academic Minute Celebrates 2nd Anniversary

Mount Holyoke, WAMC Northeast Public Radio, and Newman's Own Foundation recently celebrated the second anniversary of the Academic Minute, the daily radio segment hosted by MHC President Lynn Pasquerella that brings the latest research from campuses around the world to listeners across the United States, Canada, and online.

Featuring professors from a wide range of institutions, the Academic Minute provides a forum for leading experts to explain their research and discoveries to an engaged audience. Since its launch in July 2010, the program has introduced faculty from some 175 colleges and universities across myriad disciplines. The daily segments air each weekday morning and afternoon on more than 65 stations across North America, including the WAMC network. The Academic Minute is also featured daily on the Insider Higher Ed website and as a podcast.

“We at Northeast Public Radio (WAMC) are in love with this show,” said station president and CEO Alan Chartock. “As a lifelong professor and academic, I know how frustrating it is to do important research and only have a handful of people know about it. That’s why I wanted to do this show. Too much important work is being done in our colleges and universities that people don’t know about. We are most appreciative of our partners at Mount Holyoke and Newman’s Own, as well as President Pasquerella, for working with us on this project.”

To honor the hard work of the academic contributors and public relations teams at participating colleges and universities, WAMC announced the second annual Academic Minute Senior Superlatives. The honorees include professors Christopher Martine, SUNY Plattsburgh; Jason Kring, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University; David Mullin, Tulane University; William Wood, Humboldt State University; Caleb Everett, University of Miami; Daniel Abrams, Northwestern University; Thomas Park, University of Illinois; Michael Bunce, Murdoch College (Perth, Australia); David Clark, Alma College; Silvia Alajaji, Franklin & Marshall College; and William Connell, Seton Hall University. Syl Kacapyr of Cornell University, Laurie Pine of Seton Hall University, and Joanna Norris of the University of North Florida were honored for their public relations work on behalf of the program.

As host, Pasquerella introduces the speakers featured in the Academic Minute.

"Congratulations to each of the winners for their informative and thought-provoking segments,” she said. “Their ability to communicate complex research and scholarship in a manner that is both accessible and entertaining through the Academic Minute is bound to inspire the next generation of leaders in the academy. We are truly grateful!"