Benjamin wins book award

Mara Benjamin, chair of the Jewish studies program

By Christian Feuerstein 

Mara Benjamin, chair of the Jewish studies program and the Irene Kaplan Leiwant Associate Professor of Jewish Studies, has won an award from the American Academy of Religion for her book “The Obligated Self: Maternal Subjectivity and Jewish Thought.”  

The book has been bestowed with the Award for Excellence in the Study of Religion: Constructive–Reflective Studies. The organization said in its award, “In this strikingly original book, Mara Benjamin opens readers’ eyes to new theological perspectives by making a compelling argument that maternal experience affords a distinctive lens on how to imagine the divine and how to reimagine self, other, neighbor and outsider.”  

The annual competition recognizes new scholarly publications that make significant contributions to the study of religion. The awards honor books of distinctive originality, intelligence, creativity and importance — books that affect decisively how religion is examined, understood and interpreted. 

Read the full list of awardees.

Related News

Image of Kathy Aidala

Katherine Aidala wins spring 2020 APS prize

The American Physical Society has awarded Mount Holyoke professor Katherine Aidala the highest recognition of her outstanding research and mentoring. 

This is a portrait of author and lecturer Andrea Lawlor alongside an image of the cover of “Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl.” The cover is pink, with black block text over an image of what appears to be a sculpture draped in pink cloth.

Critics sing praises for Lawlor’s debut novel

Mount Holyoke College professor Andrea Lawlor’s debut novel earned high praise. The Advocate called Lawlor “a worthy successor to Virginia Woolf.”

Christopher Benfey

Benfey’s new book reviewed in the New Yorker

Mount Holyoke professor Christopher Benfey’s new book on Rudyard Kipling was reviewed in the New Yorker.  

This is a side-by-side image, to the left, a portrait of Kerstin Nordstrom smiling; to the right, the NSF CAREER Award logo.

Kerstin Nordstrom wins CAREER award

Physics professor Kerstin Nordstrom has been awarded the prestigious CAREER research award from the National Science Foundation.

This is a group photo of Dean of Faculty Jon Western with professors Jeremy King, Girma Kebbede, Bode Omojola and Amy Frary, and Acting President Sonya Stephens

Excellence awards for outstanding professors

Mount Holyoke professors were presented with awards for their superb teaching and scholarship at the annual recognition ceremony.

Find more stories >