The Glascock Contest's History

Posted: April 24, 2006

Begun in 1923 as a memorial to Kathryn Irene Glascock '22, the competition has long connected talented student poets with distinguished professional poets. Since 1924, the first year the competition had contestants from other schools, 27 Mount Holyoke women have placed either first or second.

Former Glascock winners who later became prominent poets include:

  • Sylvia Plath (Smith College)
  • Donald Hall (Harvard University)
  • James Merrill (Amherst College)
  • Kenneth Koch (Harvard University)
  • Gjertrud Schnackenberg '75 (Mount Holyoke College)
  • Mary Jo Salter, Emily Dickinson Senior Lecturer in the Humanities, came in second in 1976 as Radcliffe College's representative.

Past judges include:

  • W. H. Auden
  • Elizabeth Bishop
  • Louise Bogan
  • Robert Frost
  • James Merrill
  • Sylvia Plath
  • John Crowe Ransom
  • Adrienne Rich
  • Stephen Spender

Related Links:

Meet Poet Sarah Giragosian '06