Academic Calendar

2018-19 Academic Year

Printer Friendly Calendar: 2018-19

Fall Semester 2018
New International Students arrive and their Orientation begins Wed, Aug 29
Online registration opens for add/drop period Wed, Aug 29
New students arrive and their Orientation begins/Advising Day Fri, Aug 31
Returning students arrive Sun, Sep 2
Convocation Tue, Sept 4
Classes begin Wed, Sept 5
Last day to add classes Tue, Sept 18
Last day to withdraw from a course without "W" notation recorded Tue, Sept 25
Mid-semester break Sat-Tue, Oct 6 - 9
Degree conferral for summer term finishers Thu, Oct 18
Family & Friends Weekend Fri-Sun, Oct 19 - 21
Add/drop for second half-semester courses (email changes to the Office of the Registrar) Mon-Fri, Oct 22 - 26
Second half-semester classes begin Mon, Oct 22
Academic advising period Mon-Fri, Oct 29 - Nov 2
Online registration period for Spring Mount Holyoke and Five College courses Mon - Fri, Nov 5 - 16
Founder's Day November 8, 1837
Last day to withdraw from a course with "W" notation recorded Thu, Nov 15
Last day to declare ungraded option Thu, Nov 15
Thanksgiving recess Wed-Sun, Nov 21 - Nov 25
Last day of classes Tue, Dec 11
Reading days Wed, Dec 12 - Fri, Dec 14 at 7pm
Examinations Fri, Dec 14 at 7pm - Tue, Dec 18 at noon
December recess Tue, Dec 18 noon - Tue, Jan 1
Fall grades due Wed, Jan 2 at 11pm
Intersession 2019
Intersession start and end Wed, Jan 2 - Fri, Jan 18
January Recess Sat-Mon, Jan 19 - 21
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Mon, Jan 21
Spring Semester 2019
Online registration opens for add/drop period Wed, Jan 16
New International Students arrive and their Orientation begins Wed, Jan 16
New students arrive and their Orientation begins Thu, Jan 17
Classes begin Tue, Jan 22
Last day to add classes  Mon, Feb 4
Last day to withdraw from a course without "W" notation recorded Mon, Feb 11
Degree conferral for fall/winter term finishers Thu, Mar 7
Mid-semester break Sat-Sun, Mar 9 - 17
Add/drop for second half-semester courses (email changes to the Office of the Registrar) Mon-Fri, Mar 18 - 22
Second half-semester classes begin Mon, Mar 18
Academic advising period Mon-Fri, Mar 25 - 29
Online registration period for fall Five College courses Mon-Fri, Apr 1 - 12
Online registration period for fall Mount Holyoke courses Mon-Fri, Apr 1 - 19
Last day to withdraw from a course with "W" notation recorded Mon, Apr 8
Last day to declare ungraded option Mon, Apr 8
Community Day (no classes) Tue, Apr 9
Last day of classes Tue, Apr 30
Reading days Wed, May 1 - Fri, May 3 at 2pm
Examinations Fri, May 2 at 7pm - Tue, May 7 at noon (last exam session starts May 7 at 9am)
Senior grades due Thu, May 9 at noon
Reunion I Fri-Sun, May 17 - 29
Baccalaureate Service Sat, May 18
Commencement Sun, May 19
Underclass grades due Tue, May 21 at 11pm
Reunion II Fri-Sun, May 24 - 26