Funded Projects

Faculty have garnered Pulitzer Prizes, Guggenheim Fellowships, and grants from NASA as well as the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation including eight NSF CAREER awards, two Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientist and Engineers, the most prestigious federal government award for young scientists; and most recently, the NIH Director’s New Innovator Award. Also a Public Scholar Award from the National Endowment for the Humanities, a James S. McDonnell Foundation research award, and fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies, American Philosophical Society, Fulbright and the NEH.

Mount Holyoke College has also received numerous foundation grants for institutional initiatives including from Mellon, Luce, A.V. Davis, Alden Trust, Carnegie, and Teagle Foundations, and from corporations including Google and Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company. The College’s Center for Global Initiatives was recognized with the Senator Paul Simon Award for global education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching awarded its community engagement classification to the College's Community-Based Learning program, a prestigious designation given to institutions demonstrating that their mission, culture, leadership, resources, and practices support “dynamic and noteworthy community engagement.”

September 2017 - 2018 Funding Highlights

Faculty Accomplishments

Jennifer Wallace Jacoby (Psychology and Education): $225,000 from the Foundation for Child Development for "The Other Teachers in the Room: Foregrounding the Roles and Contributions of Assistant Teachers in Early Childhood Classrooms." The project is for three years.
Wei Chen (Chemistry): $257,951 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for "RUI: Poly (vinyl alcohol) Thin Film Dewetting by Controlled Directional Drying." The project is for three years.
Ombretta Frau (Italian Studies): $4,700 from The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation for "La lettura e il mio pane quotidiano spirituale"/"Reading is my daily spiritual bread"-Intellectual women in nineteenth century Venice. The project is for one year.
Paula Debnar (Classics): Five College Innnovative Language Teaching Award for Summer 2018 to design and create material for Homeric Greek Resource Site, Phase 2 for Lessons 21-36 for intro-level Homeric Greek courses. Awarded in collaboration with two colleagues from Smith and the University of Massachusetts.
Timothy Chumley (Mathematics and Statistics): $3,300 from the American Mathematical Society for travel reimbursement for attendance at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in August 2018.
Andrea Faulkes (Mathematics and Statistics): $50,000 from the CKD Biomarkers Consortium of the Perelman School of Medicine at University of Pennsylvania (subaward under NIH grant) for "Statistical Methods for Genomics of CKD." The project is for one year. $1,508,106 from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for "R1-Methods for integrated analysis of multi-level omics data." This project is for four years.
Kerstin Nordstrom (Physics): named Cottrell Sholar 2018. $100,000 from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA) for "Flow in Amorphous Systems: Understanding Dynamics Across Scales." This project is for three years.
James Hartley (Economics): $6,900 from the Charles Koch Foundation for a student reading group. This project is for one year and $1,300 from the Institute for Humane Studies at George Mason University for "Liberty & A Free Society Reading Group." The project is for 4.5 months.
Gail Hornstein (Psychology): $93,712 from the Foundation for Excellence in Mental Health Care for her project "Hearing Voices Research and Development Fund: Years 3 & 4. This project is for two years.
Mark Lauer (German Studies) in collaboration with Judith Keyler-Meyer (Smith College): $12,600 from Five Colleges, Inc. for a Five College Innovative Language Teaching Award to develop and assess materials in Winter 2017/2018 for a Collaborative German Intensive Elementary Course to be co-taught in Spring 2018 at Smith College and Mount Holyoke College.
Patricia Banks (Sociology): Invited fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford University during the 2018-2019 academic year for her project “The Meanings and Motivations of Black Cultural Philanthropy.”

Kevin Surprise (Environmental Studies): from the Institute for Human Geography, Inc. for "Securing planetary capitalism: The making of solar geoengineering policy" at Harvard. The project is for one year.

Nicole Gilbert-Cote (Pyschology) with Jared Schwartzer and Natasha Anderson: $5,000 from the Association for Pyschological Science (APS) for their project "The Accessible Toolbox: A Website for Teaching Statistics in Psychology to Students with Disabilities." The project is for one year.

Andrea Foulkes (Mathematics and Statistics):$452,759 from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for "Statistical methods for modeling multi-omic data." The project is for two years.

Jacquelyne Luce (Gender Studies): $7,500 from the DES Action USA for Embodying Transgenerational Exposure: Gender/sex/sexuality and experiences of being DES-exposed.” The project is for nine and a half months.

Kathy Aidala (Physics): $368,817 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for "RUI: Time-resolved point Kelvin probe force microscopy for non-traditional semiconductors." The project is for three years.

Kathy Binder (Psychology and Education): $618,957 from the U.S. Department of Education - IES sub-award from University of Georgia for "Examining the Processes and Outcomes of Reading Comprehension (EXPO-RC)." The project is for four years.
Rebecca Lijek (Biology): $50,000 from The Epidemiology and Prevention Interdisciplinary Center for Sexually Transmitted Infections (EPIC-STI) for “Identification of Chlamydia factors that drive immunopathology.” The project is for one year.
Alexi Arango (Physics) EAGER: $80,000 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for “Transparent electrode device architecture for high efficiency.” The project is for 18 months.
Maria Gomez (Chemistry): $201,333 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for "RUI: Using graph theory measures to probe oxygen vacancy and proton conduction in perovskites and double perovskites." The project is for three years.
Corey Flanders (Psychology): $10,000 from the Wayne F. Placek Grant from the American Psychological Association (APA) for “Young sexual minority women’s experiences of sexual violence and sexual stigma.” The project is for one year.
James Hartley (Economics): $1,000 from the Institute for Humane Studies at George Mason University for "Markets without Limits Reading Group." The project is for one semester.
Gary Gillis (Biology): $15,500 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for “Symposium:  Sensory feedback and animal locomotion: perspectives from biology and biorobotics, January 5, 2018, San Francisco, California." The project is for one year.

Institutional Grants

Henry R. Luce Foundation - $330,000 for Clare Booth Luce Escrow Account FY18. The project is for one year.

Yawkey Foundation - $10,000 to support equestrian project to be determined. The project is for eight months.  

Henry P. Kendall Foundation - $100,000 to support “MHC Sustainable: Campus Food Initiative.” The project is for 18 months.
Sherman Fairchild Foundation - $500,000 to support MHC’s MEDIAL Project for Arts and Technology. The project is for four years.