And the Winners Are Each year, the Five College Multicultural Theatre Committee sponsors a Five College playwrighting competition. This year, the committee received twenty scripts for consideration, with Mount Holyoke submitting the largest number among the Five Colleges. Three of the eight winning scripts were by MHC students. The winners are Alessandra Folz ’02, for The Opposition to the Creation of a Person; Margaret Girouard ’04, for A Drop of Desperation; and Kara Pressley ’03, for Where Do I Belong? The selected plays will be performed during a two-evening festival at Amherst College in April. The students will be awarded the 2001 James Baldwin Playwrighting Award and receive an honorarium of $100.



At the Employee Service Awards breakfast held February 8, painter Gerald Snicker was honored for thirty-five years of service to the College. He is shown here with John Bryant, director of facilities management, and Lauren Turner, director of human resources.

Employee Kudos At the February 8 Employee Service Awards breakfast, which honored MHC employees with five or more years of service to the College, President Joanne Creighton (herself an honoree, having reached the five-year mark at MHC) noted that the men and women in the room represented a total of 1,585 years of service. Creighton thanked the employees, who work in departments ranging from buildings and grounds and admission to LITS and earth and environment, for their “longevity and loyalty.” At the event, painter Gerald Snicker was honored for thirty-five years of service. The following is a list of employees who received awards at the breakfast.

Five Years: Andrea Ayvazian, Deborah Bell, Leszek Bledzki, Maura C. Campbell, Peter Carini, Donald Cote, Joanne Creighton, Taryn Dunaj, Mary Fanelli, Judith Field, Kerry Fisher Jr., Sharon Frank, Bernard Gay, Karen Griffin, Deborah Harbison, Charles Hommes, Johnny Izquierdo, Sandra Kacenski, John Laprade, Deborah Leary, Paul Menard, Christina Monat, Luis Nieves, Hossein Rahimi, Amy Rahimi, Kathleen Roebuck, Jeffrey Sadowski, Linda Samano, Rolanda Sattler, Gail Scanlon, Lisa Shea, Sujeong Shin, Li-Ling Waller, Daniel Wilga, and Nancy Wojcicki.

For Ten Years: Diane Anci, Helen Ash, Robert Bray, Linda Cavanaugh, Richard Chase, Jacqueline Deane, Jean Dixon, Susan Fliss, David Gauthier, Lisa Godding, Muriel Hunter, Laurie Kamins, Susan Labarre, Cynthia Legare, Tracy Lynch, Eric Naser, Patricia O’Brien, Theresa Rae, Eileen Rakouskas, Bryan Roman, Ann Routhier, Ellen Rutan, Valerie Sawka, Ellen Shukis, Oanh Tran, Jeanne Tripp, and Barbara Watkins.

For Fifteen Years: Patricia Albright, Nancy Birkrem, Gerald Blain, Joseph Calabrese, Suzanne Cote, Susan Desjardins, Kathryn Felsentreger, Gail Glanville, Joanne Holmes, Robert Jurczyk, Raymond La Barre, Czeslawa Leclerc, Mary Ellen Marion, Paul Masse, Karen Mehl, Yu Pok Page, Stephen Parmenter, Hoa Van Pham, Doris Pichette, Michael Russell, Anne Szafranowicz, Michael Urgo, and Linda Young.
For twenty years: William Adams, Noralba Bedoya, Dawn Blyda, Barbara Bunyan, Katherine Dorfman, Lorraine Dufresne, Leah Glasser, Darcia Malone, Kathleen Monat, Carol Morrissette, Donal O’Shea, Joan Perez, Mary Roco, Shirley Sudsbury, and Lauren Turner.

For Twenty-Five Years: Russell Boudreau, Michael Fernandes, Cecile Girard, Victoria Grant, Vicha Hajdamowicz, John Hulse, Nancy Parks, Carol Supinski, Catherine Valiquette, Ruth Wordsworth, and Ronald Zissell

For Thirty Years: Michael Buckley, Michael Hurley, Cynthia Morrell, and Jane Ting.

For Thirty-Five Years: Gerald Snicker.



Home | Directories | Web Email | Calendar | Campus Map | Search | Help

About the College | Admission | Academics | Student Life | Athletics
Offices & Services | Giving | News & Events | Alumnae | Library & Technology

Copyright © 2001 Mount Holyoke College. This page created by The Office of Communications and maintained by Jennifer Adams. Last modified on February 23, 2001.