[New & Notable]

Ten Chosen for Phi Beta Kappa Mount Holyoke's Phi Beta Kappa, the Theta Chapter of Massachusetts, has elected ten students as members. They were selected on the basis of four to six semesters of study at Mount Holyoke. The new members are Jaya Balasubramaniam, Raluca Cernahoschi, Ingrid Dennert, Erika Dyson, Kristin Jensen, Tetyana Obukhanych, Kathleen O'Connor, Vasudha Paramasivan, Li Ying Sun, and Suzanne Wiltgen.

To the rescue: you? In the wake of Hurricane Mitch, thousands of people in Central America have died and millions of others have been left without food, water, clothing, or shelter. Two fundraising efforts to help the victims are under way at MHC. Eliot House is collecting tax-deductible contributions for the relief effort. Checks should be made payable to "Jubilee Partners" with "relief fund" written at the bottom of the check, and delivered to Andrea Ayvazian at Eliot House as soon as possible. A student-organized effort is asking for donations to be distributed by the Granada Red Cross of Nicaragua. Organizers Angela Weekley '00 (x4255) and Melissa D'Alelio '01 (x4247) urge every person on campus to give at least $1, which would yield more than $3,000 for the cause. Donations can be made at the bell desks of all residence halls, or by contacting the organizers.

We want your news - Send items of interest to Emily Weir, Office of Communications, or email eweir@mtholyoke.edu.