[New & Notable]

Students say "thank you" to staff

The Student Government Association is sponsoring Staff Appreciation Day on March 30. Cake will be served in Blanchard at noon and 3 pm, and all staff members are encouraged to take a break and enjoy the cake. "Special pens will also be available to thank staff for their services to the community," said Jennifer L. Adams '00, public relations officer for SGA.

In addition, the SGA senate chose several staff members for special recognition based on "excellence in service to students." Thay are: Kay Althoff, Monica Augustin, Blanca Ayala, Beth Brakey, Geraldine Brockway, Rochelle Calhoun, Janet Crosby, Mike Crowley, Carolyn Dietel, Charlene Elvers, Nancy Fecteau, Linda Fernandes, Kevin Fournier, Denise Gould, Elisabeth Hogan, Fred Kass, Cindy Kennedy, John Laprade, Micheline Letendre, Paul Ominsky, Nancy Parks, Teresa Picard, Eileen Rakouskas, Michelle Rosenthal, Jeff Sadowski, Holly Sharac, Yvonne Skillings, Mary Stark, Jeanne Tripp, Tee Williams, William Wordsworth, Linda Young, and Peggy Warwick.

SGA Award of Excellence

The Office of Student Activities has been voted by the Student Government Association as the next recipient of the Department Award of Excellence. According to SGA public relations officer Jennifer Adams '00, the office was chosen by vote for their support and service to all students and student organizations. They will be honored at the March 30 Senate meeting.

Worldwide appeal

MHC admission officers look everywhere for the best and brightest students who might want to attend Mount Holyoke. From November 1998 through April 1999, admission staff will have traveled to thirty countries in Asia, North and South America, Europe, the Middle East, and Africa. MHC assistant director of admission Deborah W. Haskins FP '93 (in white) and Sarah Hamill Leavell '76 (associate director of admission at Denison University) are shown here at the Great Wall of China, while on a fall 1998 tour of Asia with a group of twenty-five American college admission representatives.

Diane Anci, acting director of admission, just returned from speaking at a conference for United States Information Service advisers, and speaking to about 200 prospective students, in Zimbabwe. That visit and another planned for this fall represent an expansion of recruiting in African nations; previously, MHC officers had traveled on that continent only to Morocco.

Well represented

Mount Holyoke will be well represented at the upcoming National Science Teachers Association convention in Boston. Joyce Laquidara Gleason '69 is program coordinator for the convention, which is expected to draw an international group of some 20,000. Professor of Geology Mark McMenamin will be a featured speaker in a series sponsored by Shell Oil, and Linda Morrissey Wilson '68 will speak in the math series.

Up close and personnel

New arrivals: Mark A. Bielas, Buildings and Grounds; Carol P. Constant, Office of Development; Brian J. Geaughan, Dining Services; Tamra L. Hjermstad, LITS; Robyn L. Piggott, Office of Development; Monica L. Augustin, Registrar; Jennifer A. Buckland, Botanical Garden; Karen A. Colemon, Buildings and Grounds; Billye K. Davis-Warren, Dining Services; Daphne A. Downs, Financial Assistance; Henry E. Eberhardt, Office of Development; Keri L. Finnie, Financial Assistance; Peter A. Haas, Dining Services; Paul R. Higgins, Office of Development; and Karen E. Rossini, Health Center.

Departures: Brian B. Faille, Dining Services; Shirley Musick, Buildings and Grounds; Kimberly Ortyl, President's Office; Lewis Thayne, Office of Development; Shane Mortimer, Public Safety; and Keith Rose, Public Safety.

What's new with you?

Send news for "New & Notable" to Emily Weir, Office of Communications, or email eweir@mtholyoke.edu.