President's Commission on Work-Life-Family

The President’s Commission on Work-Life-Family was launched in October 2010 as a cross-campus entity collaborating with existing offices and committees to further develop practices and policies that support the balancing of work, life, and family.  The Commission is composed of six work groups focused on strategically-selected priorities: workload management, wellness, policy review for staff, policy review for faculty, family care, and professional development.

Since its founding, the Commission has surveyed the faculty and staff to develop a comprehensive understanding of work-life challenges and opportunities, offered the “Lifestyle Change Challenge” in spring 2012, advocated for enhancements in childcare offerings, and initiated a number of policy changes currently under review.

From February 25-March 1, 2013, the workload management work group is offering “Re-Work It: Recalibrating Our Work-Life Balance,” a one-week community conversation and experiment in new work patterns and habits. Learn how you and your department can be involved in this most recent initiative.

For information about the work of the President’s Commission on Work-Life-Family and how you can participate, please contact the co-chairs, Jennifer Sanborn, chief of staff to the president, and Chris Abbuhl, director of human resources.

Membership 2012-2013

Chris Abbuhl Director of Human Resources
Jennifer Sanborn Chief of Staff/Executive Assistant to the President
Katrina Borowiec (Convener) Assistant Director of Institutional Research
Chris Abbuhl Director of Human Resources
Lauren Cook Associate Dean of Admission
Rachel Fink Professor of Biological Sciences
Martha Hoopes Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
Elizabeth Pyle Registrar
Jennifer Sanborn Chief of Staff/Executive Assistant to the President
Devon Smith Programmer/Analyst, LITS
Julie Parks (Convener) Accountant/Accounts Payable Manager
Sarah Adelman Assistant Professor of Economics
Karen Jacobus Coordinator of Health Education
Amber Ladley Web Communications Specialist
Linda Samano (Convener) Employment and Compensation Manager
Janelle Gagnon Lab Director and Psychology & Education Instructor
Cappie Glica Stewardship Officer, Advancement
Deb LaBonte Accounts Payable Specialist
Chris Letourneau Supervisor of Campus Mail Processing
Liz Markovits Associate Professor of Politics
Amy Martin Associate Professor of English
Matt McKeever Associate Professor of Sociology
Krista Denno (Convener) Senior Administrative Assistant, LITS
Cherie Phillips Senior Administrative Assistant, Academic Deans
Natalina Tulik Payroll Specialist
Jennifer Sanborn (Convener) Chief of Staff/Executive Assistant to the President