Dickinson Hall

Dickinson Hall

Dickinson House was built in 1916 as a faculty dormitory called Faculty House. It was renamed in 1931 in honor of Emma E. Dickinson, class of 1867. Dickinson House has served many purposes over the years, with more recent incarnations as the home of the Women's Studies Program and the Five College Women's Studies Research Center, and as housing for Frances Perkins students. In the fall of 2014, Dickinson has been designated as exclusive space for our Frances Perkins Scholars all in single rooms.  This is the smallest residence hall on campus but is a hub for Frances Perkins students to live and build community together.  The third floor of Dickinson has been designated a quiet floor and the residents who live there have a higher expectation of quiet, 24 hours a day.

Dickinson is unique in several ways. It is the only residence hall exclusive to Frances Perkins Scholars. Dickinson is located across Route 116 on Faculty Lane, which makes it slightly further from center campus than other residence halls.  Most students opt to eat across the street at Abbey, Buckland, and Rockefeller hall. Dickinson is located across Route 116 from Chapin Auditorium, where many campus events are held. It is also across the street from the Jeanette Marks house, the lesbian, bisexual and transgender cultural space on campus.

Year Built 1916
Year Renovated 2001
# of Students 40
# of Floors 3
# of Singles 40
# of Doubles 0
# of Triples 0
# of Quads 0
# of Suites 0
# of Apts. 0
Basement Rooms No
# Sharing bathroom 11
Accessible Yes
Elevator No
Dumbwaiter No
Dining Hall No
Luncheon Center No
Kitchenette No
Full Kitchen Yes
Floor Lounges No
All Classes? No
FPs ? Yes
Quiet Floor Yes