Holiday Schedule

Official Paid Holidays for Campus Employees, Fiscal Year 2019 - 2020

Holiday Offices Closed

Independence Day
Thursday, July 4, 2019

Thursday, July 4, 2019-Friday, July 5, 2019
Offices will reopen on Monday, July 8, 2019
Labor Day
Monday, September 2, 2019

Monday, September 2, 2019
Offices will reopen Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Noon, Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Friday, November 29, 2019
Offices will reopen Monday, December 2, 2019
Christmas Day
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Offices will reopen Friday, December 27, 2019
New Year's Day
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Offices reopen Thursday, January 2, 2020
Martin Luther King Day
Monday, January 20, 2020
Monday, January 20, 2020
Offices reopen Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Memorial Day
Monday, May 25, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Offices reopen Tuesday, May 26, 2020

 

Floating Holidays

Employees may choose two (2) additional days as paid holidays. These days may be either federal, state, religious or any other day(s) the employee may choose to be approved by the academic chair or department head. Because of varied religious practices of Mount Holyoke College’s employees, academic chairs and department heads are encouraged to approve employee requests for time off for the observance of the religious holidays or practices.

The total number of paid holidays for the fiscal year 2019-2020 is 13 ½.

The College will permit some additional flexibility to offices during the workdays between Christmas and New Years holidays. The College will not officially close during this period; however, individual offices may close if operational needs permit, and if all members of the office wish to take the time off. (e.g.: vacation, floating holiday)

Some offices or departments may have to remain open on some or all holidays. Staffing on those occasions may be reduced. Any non-union employee required to work on such a holiday will be given another day off with pay in lieu of that holiday, such days subject to the approval of the academic chair or department head. Union employees will be compensated according to the terms of their particular contract.

Students

Students can view all holidays impacting their schedule by visiting the academic calendar. Note, non-essential personal may be unavailable on the days listed above.