Board of Trustees

Composition of the Board

The Board of Trustees of Mount Holyoke College comprises not more than 34 members and 12 standing committees

  •     Before MHC
  •     During MHC
  •     After MHC
  •     Audit/Risk Committee
  •     Conference Committee
  •     DEI Task Force
  •     Executive Committee
  •     Finance Committee
  •     Fundraising Strategy & Momentum
  •     Investment Committee
  •     Nominating & Governance Committee

Additional ad hoc or advisory committees are formed from time to time. Each trustee serves on at least three of these committees and contributes to the deliberations of same and the Board as a whole, in a substantive and informed manner.
Role of the Board

The role of the Board of Trustees of Mount Holyoke College is to:

  1.     Define, preserve and protect the mission of the College.
  2.     Guard and enhance its resources.
  3.     Appoint, support and assess the President.
  4.     Lead strategic direction-setting for the College in collaboration with the President.

Policy on Conflicts of Interest

Trustees and others with significant responsibilities for Mount Holyoke have a fiduciary duty of loyalty to the College. At all times they shall act in a manner consistent with this fiduciary obligation and shall exercise particular care that no detriment to the interests of the College (or appearance of such detriment) may result from a conflict between those interests and any personal interests which the individual trustee or other key individual may have. This duty manifests itself in the requirements to avoid conflicts of interest wherever possible and to deal openly and fairly with the College with respect to matters which are conflicts of interest. Each individual is also expected to avoid actions or situations that create the appearance of a conflict of interest.

Current Members

Chair of the Board
Karena Strella ’90
Retired Partner, Egon Zehnder International
Sausalito, CA

Interim President of the College
Beverly Daniel Tatum, Ph.D.
South Hadley, MA


Kira Banks ’00
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, Saint Louis University
St. Louis, MO

Ashanta Evans Blackwell ’95
Vice President and General Counsel, Teach for America
Memphis, TN

Katherine E. Collins ’74
Retired, Vice President for Finance, Rice University
Houston, TX

Roberta Cordano
President, Gallaudet University
Washington, DC

Sally Durdan ’81
Retired, JP Morgan Chase
Rye, NY

Adam Falk
President, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
New York, NY

Carrianna K. Field ’97
Deputy Director, International Programs, UConn School of Law
Hartford, CT

Ellen J. Flannery ’73
Deputy Center Director for Policy, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Washington, DC

Mary Hughes ’74
Political Strategist
President, Hughes & Company
Palo Alto, CA

Rhynette Northcross Hurd ’71
Division V Judge, Thirtieth Circuit Court of Tennessee
Memphis, TN

Farah Khan ’98
Managing Partner, L Catterton
New York, NY

Monica Landry ’90
Retired, Farallon Capital Management
San Francisco, CA

Joud Mar’i ’19
Computation and Neural Systems Ph.D. Student, California Institute of Technology
San Francisco, CA

KC Maurer ’84
Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer and Secretary, The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Inc.
New York, NY

Anne McKenny ’79
Retired Engineering Manager, General Motors Corporation
Howell, MI

Avice Meehan ’77
Retired, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY

Lourdes Melgar ’85, P’24
Research Affiliate, Center for Collective Intelligence, MIT
Cambridge, MA

Natasha Mohanty ’03
Engineering Leadership, Stripe
San Francisco, CA

Hallie Nath ’92
New York, NY

Ellen Hyde Pace ’81
Executive Vice President, Global Client Leader, Red Fuse Communications; President of the Mount Holyoke College Alumnae Association
New York, NY

Shelley Weiner Sheinkopf ’68
Retired Medical Doctor
Durham, NC

Raj Seshadri ’87
President, Data and Services, Mastercard
New York, NY

Mona Sutphen ’89
Partner and Head of Investment Strategies, The Vistria Group
New York, NY

Michelle Toh ’85
Stanley, Hong Kong

Louise Wasso ’75
Managing Director and Head of Private Clients, Angelo, Gordon & Co
New York, NY

Elizabeth Weatherman ’82
Special Limited Partner, Warburg Pincus
New York, NY

Sarah Wells ’10
Product Marketing Manager, WP Engine
Austin, TX

Shirley Wilcher ’73
President and Chief Executive Officer, Wilcher Global Diversity Management
Silver Spring, MD

S = spouse of a member of the class of …
P = parent of a member of the class of …