Campus Updates

Visit the campus updates page for information on Mount Holyoke's response to the global pandemic. The Opening the Gates site contains details about the spring semester.

Board of Trustees

Composition of the Board

The Board of Trustees of Mount Holyoke College comprises not more than 34 members and 12 standing committees

  • Before MHC
  • During MHC
  • After MHC
  • Audit/Risk Committee
  • Conference Committee
  • DEI Task Force
  • Executive Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Fundraising Strategy & Momentum
  • Investment Committee
  • Nominating & Governance Committee

Additional ad hoc or advisory committees are formed from time to time. Each trustee serves on at least three of these committees and contributes to the deliberations of same and the Board as a whole, in a substantive and informed manner.

Role of the Board

The role of the Board of Trustees of Mount Holyoke College is to:

  1. Define, preserve and protect the mission of the College.
  2. Guard and enhance its resources.
  3. Appoint, support and assess the President.
  4. Lead strategic direction-setting for the College in collaboration with the President.

Policy on Conflicts of Interest

Trustees and others with significant responsibilities for Mount Holyoke have a fiduciary duty of loyalty to the College. At all times they shall act in a manner consistent with this fiduciary obligation and shall exercise particular care that no detriment to the interests of the College (or appearance of such detriment) may result from a conflict between those interests and any personal interests which the individual trustee or other key individual may have. This duty manifests itself in the requirements to avoid conflicts of interest wherever possible and to deal openly and fairly with the College with respect to matters which are conflicts of interest. Each individual is also expected to avoid actions or situations that create the appearance of a conflict of interest.

Meetings and Events

  • September 27-29, 2018
  • February 21-23, 2019
  • May 2-4, 2019

  • September 26-28, 2019
  • February 27-29, 2020
  • May 8, 2020
  • June 11, 2020
  • June 13, 2020

October 8-10, 2020
February 25-27, 2021
May 6-8, 2021

Current Members

Chair of the Board

Karena Strella ’90

Sausalito, Calif.

President of the College

Sonya Stephens

South Hadley, Mass.


Elizabeth Barbeau ’85
Adjunct Associate Professor, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Boston, Mass.

Jennie Berkson ’76
Writer and information consultant
Leland, Mich.

Lori Bettison-Varga
President, National History Museum of Los Angeles County
Los Angeles, Calif.

Elizabeth Cochary Gross ’79
Adjunct Associate Professor, Friedman School of Nutrition and Science Policy, Tufts University
Concord, Mass.

Katherine E. Collins ’74
Vice President for Finance, Rice University
Houston, Texas

Sally Durdan ’81
Retired, JP Morgan Chase
Rye, New York

Erin Ennis ’92
Senior Director, Global Public Policy, Dell Technologies
Washington, DC

Carrianna K. Field ’97
Deputy Director, International Programs, UConn School of Law
Hartford, Conn.

Ellen J. Flannery ’73
Deputy Center Director for Policy, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Washington, D.C.

Heather Harde ’91
Vice Chairman of
San Francisco, Calif.

Mary Hughes ’74
Political Strategist
President, Hughes & Company
Palo Alto, Calif.

Rhynette Northcross Hurd ’71
Adjunct Professor, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law, University of Memphis
Memphis, Tenn.

Monica Landry ’90
Retired, Farallon Capital Management
San Francisco, Calif.

David Mahoney P’18
Private Equity Investor
San Francisco, Calif.

Camille Malonzo ’16
Software Engineer, Microsoft
Seattle, Wash.

KC Maurer ’84
CFO, Treasurer and Secretary, The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Inc.
New York, N.Y.

Anne McKenny ’79
Engineering Manager, General Motors Corporation (retired)
Howell, Mich.

Avice Meehan ’77
Retired, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, N.Y.

Natasha Mohanty ’03
Co-founder and V.P. of Technology, FEM Inc.
San Francisco, Calif.

Maria Mossaides ’73
Child Advocate, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Worcester, Mass.

Hallie Nath ’92
New York, N.Y.

Jennifer Rochlis ’94
Vice President & Chief Solutions Architect, FLIR Systems
Arlington, Virginia

Raj Seshadri ’87
President, U.S. Issuers of MasterCard Worldwide
New York, N.Y.

Mona Sutphen ’89
Partner, Macro Advisory Partners
New York, N.Y. 

Michelle Toh ’85
Stanley, Hong Kong

Louise Wasso ’75
Managing Director and Head of Private Clients, Angelo, Gordon & Co
New York, N.Y.

Elizabeth Weatherman ’82
Managing Director, Warburg Pincus
New York, N.Y.

Sarah Wells ’10
Product Marketing Manager, WP Engine
Austin, Texas

S = spouse of a member of the class of …
P = parent of a member of the class of …