Sustainability Steering Committee

The Sustainability Steering Committee was formed in order to develop a plan to implement the Sustainability Task Force’s recommendations, which include:  

  • Make policy recommendations
  • Identify areas that need additional planning and research
  • Identify minimal-cost items for short-term implementation
  • Identify priority projects to propose to the Capital Projects Committee
  • Recommend methods to cultivate a culture of campus sustainability

Committee members


Olivia Aguilar

  • Leslie and Sarah Miller Director of the Miller Worley Center for the Environment
  • Associate Professor of Environmental Studies

Catherine Corson

  • Miller Worley Professor of Environmental Studies

Catarina Costa

  • Director of U.S. Admission

Naomi Darling

  • Five College Associate Professor of Sustainable Architecture

Rick Feldman

  • Senior Lecturer in Economics and Entrepreneurship, Organizations, and Society (EOS)
  • Nexus Track Chair for Global Business Nexus
  • Co-Director of Fimbel Maker & Innovation Lab

Serin D. Houston

  • Associate Professor of Geography and International Relations
  • On leave, academic year 2023-2024

Frederick Kroll

  • Assistant Director, Purchasing

Louise Labrie

  • Business Coordinator - Athletics/Equestrian Center

Cara Lapenas

  • Academic Department Coordinator

Marcella Runell, Ed.D.

  • Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students

Peggy Stevens

  • Associate Director of Budget, Contracts and Procurement

Kevin Surprise

  • Senior Lecturer in Environmental Studies

Alan Werner

  • Professor of Geology
  • on leave spring 2024

Karla Youngblood

  • Associate Vice President for Facilities Management